Most of this site's functionality requires JavaScript to be enabled.

Invalid email/password
Log In
Lisa McMann - Sacramento Local Author
Lisa McMann lives in Sacramento, California. She is married to fellow writer and musician, Matt McMann, and they have two adult children. Her son, Kilian McMann, is an artist, and her daughter, Kennedy McMann, is an actor.

Lisa was born in Holland, Michigan, and she lived there until 2004, when she moved to Mesa, Arizona, with her family. She and her husband moved to midtown Sacramento in 2019. They like to write on their balcony overlooking the park across the street. Her first book, Wake, came out in 2008. In her spare time, Lisa likes to take walks around the California State Capitol grounds, shop at local stores, and cook. She also likes to watch TV and movies and loves to read fantasy, realistic fiction, memoirs, and books about cooking and wine.

Lisa is the author of more than two dozen books for young adults and children. So far, she has written in genres that include paranormal, realistic, dystopian, and fantasy. Some of her most well-known books are The Unwanteds series for middle-grade readers and the Wake trilogy for young adults. She hopes to keep writing books for a long time.

Follow Lisa on her social media platforms:

Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
SnapChat

Lisa's Website

Coming September 2019 - The Unwanteds Quests #4: Dragon Curse - Pre order it now!See more
At last, after harrowing battles and devastating losses, the three Stowe siblings are reunited. Back in Artime, however, their joy at finding one another is short lived. Fifer loses her leadership position and struggles to find her place and purpose, while Thisbe is relentless in her determination to return to the land of the dragons and help Rohan rescue the other black-eyed children. Aaron fails to ward off increasing opposition from a resentful Frieda Stubbs and the dissenters, leading to a shocking and dangerous turn.

Meanwhile the Revinir pursues Thisbe and Drock all the way to the seven islands, putting the people of Artimé in peril. To save them, Thisbe makes an unthinkable sacrifice that leaves Fifer, Aaron, and the others to face political eruption and destruction in the formerly peaceful magical world.

The UnwantedsSee more

Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths.Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime. In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.But it's a rare, unique occurrence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
The Unwanteds QuestsSee more

Identical twins Fifer and Thisbe Stowe have amazing yet uncontrollable magical abilities. They’re naturally more gifted than even their brother, Alex, the head mage of Artimé, could hope to be. But when they accidentally use their magic in the jungle of Artimé to strike down a beloved creature, Alex is furious, and threatens to lock them away until they can learn to control their power. The threat is soon forgotten, though, when Hux, the ice blue dragon, comes to Artimé bearing the horrible news that his siblings have been enslaved by the notoriously evil Revinir, ruler of the dragon land. Seeking a chance to right their wrong and escape their brother’s wrath, Thisbe, Fifer, and their friend Seth sneak away to rescue the dragons from grave peril. Will their untrained abilities be enough to save the dragons—and themselves—when they come face-to-face with the Revinir?
Going Wild SeriesSee more


Charlie Wilde knew her life would change forever when her family moved from the city of Chicago to the suburbs of Arizona…and that was before she found the bracelet. After putting it on, she notices odd things start to happen. Suddenly Charlie seems to have the speed of a cheetah and the strength of an elephant—and that’s just the beginning. She would be thrilled about her transformation if she had any idea how to use the device or control her amazing powers. So Charlie is forced to put her trust in new friends to help her uncover the surprising truth behind the mysterious bracelet. The Going Wild series is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Ridley Pearson looking for a new twist on their middle grade adventures. It blends science fiction with the animal kingdom, highlighting some of the incredible feats that animals can achieve, which might seem possible only in comic books but are actually completely true.

The Wake TrilogySee more

Janie Hannagan lives on the fringe, cursed with an ability she doesn’t want and can’t control: She gets sucked into other people’s dreams. Things go from bad to worse when Janie is sucked into a chilling nightmare—and for the first time, Janie is more than a witness to someone else’s twisted psyche. She is a participant. Janie discovers that local burnout Cabel is the person having the nightmares—and that Cabel is hiding a few secrets of his own. As these two outsiders come together to learn more about how to harness Janie’s ability, they also find themselves growing ever closer...
Visions TrilogySee more

Jules lives with her family above their restaurant, which means she smells like pizza most of the time and drives their double meatball–shaped food truck to school. It’s not a recipe for popularity, but she can handle that. What she can’t handle is the recurring vision that haunts her. Over and over, Jules sees a careening truck hit a building and explode...and nine body bags in the snow. The vision is everywhere—on billboards, television screens, windows—and she’s the only one who sees it. And the more she sees it, the more she sees. The vision is giving her clues, and soon Jules knows what she has to do. Because now she can see the face in one of the body bags, and it’s someone she knows. Someone she has been in love with for as long as she can remember. But the horror doesn’t end there. In fact, this was just the beginning. And when Jules passes her visions on to someone she loves, will they be able to work together to prevent their visions from becoming realities?
Other BooksSee more